Instagram app for Android and iPhone Tap or in the top right of Feed. Tap and hold (Android) or swipe left (iPhone) on the conversation you’d like to delete. Tap Delete, then tap Delete to confirm. Once you delete a conversation, it will no longer be visible in your inbox.
- To delete Instagram DMs you sent and received at once, open your DM inbox, tap and hold the conversation you want to delete, and finally tap delete. Remember that when you delete a conversation, you only delete it for yourself and other recipients of the chat can still access it.
How do you delete Instagram DMS on both sides?
Simply hold down your message and tap on “Unsend”. This will delete a message from both sides, so the person you send it to won’t be able to see it anymore. That’s it! The message will be deleted from both sides.
How do you permanently delete DM on Instagram?
Tap the inbox button at the top-right corner of your home screen. Choose the conversation that you want to delete. Drag it to the left. Tap Delete.
Will blocking someone on Instagram delete messages?
Instagram doesn’t delete the direct messages of users that you block. Although the messages stay intact, you neither you nor the blocked user can send the other person messages. Even if you deactivate your Instagram account, the messages will still remain in their inbox.
When you delete a DM on Instagram can the other person still see it?
To delete Instagram messages from both sides, hold down your message and tap on “Unsend”. Unsending a message will delete it from both sides, so the person you sent it to won’t be able to see it anymore. In other words, the person and you will not be able to see the message anymore.
How do you delete all your DMS?
To do so, on your Android or iPhone device, open your DM inbox and tap on the selecting icon on the top right corner of the screen. Then, easily select as many conversations as you want and tap on the delete button.
Where do deleted IG messages go?
Go to the Profile section and tap on the menu, which is there in the top right corner. Select the option ‘Settings’ and further click on the option ‘Account’ There, you will see a ‘Recently Deleted’ section.
Can a blocked person still be able to see past conversations?
Although they can’t message your after you block them, you’ll still be able to see past conversations unless you delete them. Experts say that if you are being bullied or harassed online it can be best to keep evidence for official reports.
How do you know if someone has blocked your messages on Instagram?
If you have been blocked, Instagram will hide any message thread that you have previously had with this person for both of you, so if you have suspicions, check your direct messages. If you can still see your chat, then you’re in the clear. If not, there’s a possibility you have been blocked.
Will someone know if I block them on Instagram?
When you block someone from the Instagram app, you’ll have the option to block their account, or to block their account and new accounts they may create. People aren’t notified when you block them. After you block someone, their likes and comments will be removed from your photos and videos.
Why will Instagram not let me delete a message?
If you keep getting an error message that a comment can’t be deleted, it may be because the comment was already deleted in our system. The comment may still appear because you’re viewing an old version of the page. We’re aware of this issue and are working on a fix.
What happens when you delete messages on Instagram?
When you delete a conversation, it will no longer be visible in your inbox. Keep in mind that this only deletes the conversation for you and that it will still appear for other people included in the conversation. However, you can also unsend a message on Instagram Direct rather than deleting the entire conversation.
Why do people Unsend Instagram messages?
You know that sinking feeling when you realize there’s something wrong with your Instagram DM after you’ve already sent it, whether it’s an awkward typo or a message to the wrong person (or worse still: a DM to the wrong person about that person). In a panic, you might immediately reach to unsend the DM.