The new feature lets you hide posts in feed from certain accounts, without unfollowing them. With this change, you can make your feed even more personalized to what matters to you. When you mute an account, you can still see posts on their profile page and get notified about comments or posts you’re tagged in.
- Muting someone on Instagram is equivalent to taking a break from a conversation in real life. You politely pull yourself out of the conversation without any drama or ruffled feathers. When you mute someone you won’t be able to see the stories, pictures, and videos posted by them on your feed.
What happens if you mute someone on Instagram?
Muting someone on Instagram is like the social media equivalent of politely excusing yourself from a conversation, without making a scene. When you mute someone, their posts and stories will no longer show up in your feed, but they’ll still be able to see your posts, and you can visit each other’s account pages.
How can you tell if someone muted you on Instagram?
They aren’t in your stories’ viewer list. What is this? The final way to know if someone muted you on Instagram is if they don’t view your stories anymore. If they viewed your stories consistently in the past but didn’t view them recently, then they might have muted your stories.
Can someone see if you mute them on Instagram?
When you mute someone, their posts and stories will no longer show up in your feed, but they’ll still be able to see your posts, and you can visit each other’s account pages. And don’t worry, Instagram doesn’t send any sort of notification when you mute someone.
Why would you mute someone on Instagram?
The word “mute” is used because it is simply a way to say to someone that you don’t want to hear what they are saying On Instagram, when someone mutes us, we can still see their stories, but we are unable to reply or comment. This makes it hard to know whether or not someone is ignoring us.
How can I hide my post from someone on Instagram?
Tap Mute. You can either “mute posts,” “mute story” or “mute posts and story”. Muting a user will stop their posts or stories from showing up on your feed. The user won’t know that you’ve muted them, and you’ll still be able to view that user’s posts on their profile page.
Is there a way to block yourself from seeing someone’s Instagram story?
Instagram app for Android and iPhone At the top of feed, tap and hold the profile picture of the person whose story you’d like to mute. Select Mute, then tap Mute story.
Is restrict the same as mute on Instagram?
In a nutshell, block restricts both the profiles. Meaning, neither you can view their posts nor can they. In mute, both the users can view the profiles, only limitation is that their posts won’t appear on your feed.
Can someone know if you muted them?
Mute is a feature that allows you to remove an account’s Tweets from your timeline without unfollowing or blocking that account. Muted accounts will not know that you’ve muted them and you can unmute them at any time.
Should I mute or unfollow?
People often initially follow others just to get them to follow back and then unfollow them – but that runs the risk of them finding out and unfollowing you. Muting is the safer option. In future we could see people who follow thousands of users, but only actually listen to a small minority of them.
What does it look like when someone hides their story on Instagram?
Surprise! You’ve been hidden from someone’s Instagram Stories. According to a spokesperson at Instagram there’s no official way to tell if someone hid their Stories from you, for privacy reasons. Plus, there’s always the possibility of a glitch, or that the story didn’t load for you.